This wasn’t my election. But it felt like my election.

I didn’t think my first blog post would be about Donald Trump. And luckily it’s not. It’s about what the results of the election meant to me.

I made a Facebook post regarding my feelings about the election post-election day. As a note, I never post anything on Facebook. But in this completely surreal moment of history, I felt like I needed to say something…

screen-shot-2016-11-09-at-6-15-12-pm

I’m not an American. This wasn’t my election. But it felt like my election. The tears of that night, I felt it. The disappointment, I felt it. The uncertainty of what’s ahead, I feel it.

But to reiterate my comment above: I hope that for all those in America and everywhere else, who feel as if they’ve been relentlessly pushed aside, we can come together and lift each other up to carry out the work that we’ve come so far to do. This is the only way that we can move forward, and not again be pushed backwards.

Leave a Reply

